In addition to the option to grant user access to shares on a user or group level, it is possible to set the share itself to a specific permission model.
The access type for the shares may also be changed on-the-fly at any time by the EVO administrator.
Newly created shares in the Unlocked or Project Sharing mode will default to Read/Write as the global setting, after which per-user/group access can be configured, but expanding the Advanced section offers some more options.
Read-write: All users that are given access to the share will have R/W privileges (unless specifically assigned Read Only permission).
Read-write/Reject delete: This is the same as above, except that users will be prevented from deleting files/folders. A couple of things to consider for this model:
If content needs to be removed from a share in the Read-write/Reject delete mode, the EVO admin user can temporarily change the permission mode to Read-write and remove the necessary files/folders. These will be sent to the recycle bin for the share, so the bin will need to be emptied as well in order to truly remove the data. The share can then be returned to the Read-write/Reject delete mode.
- While the Read-write/Reject delete mode will help prevent accidental deletion of files, it is still possible for users to modify content inside of files (such as project files), or move/rename them and make them difficult to find. Since Read-write access is still provided, there are many ways to modify files that are essentially just as dangerous as a delete operation, and use of this mode should therefore not be considered a foolproof protection for content.
Read Only: No users will be allowed to write to the share. This also prevents deletes, since a delete is in fact a write operation. This mode can be useful for static content that's been put in place while Read-write is allowed, after which the access type is changed to Read Only to protect it.
See the EVO guide for more information, and/or contact us with any questions or concerns!