There can be occasional instances in which a file, once deleted, needs to be recovered.
Typically when a file is deleted on a workstation, it will go to the local workstation recycle bin when the file is located on the workstation. With shared network storage, the workstation will still have the ability to delete files; unfortunately, with typical network shares, the workstation will permanently delete files from network storage -- instead of utilizing the local recycle bin.
Thankfully, EVO can intervene in this process. The NAS shares have a recycle bin ability that can catch these files for a user-designated time, prior to permanent deletion. The recycle bin is enabled by default for NAS shares (SMB, AFP) in the current shipping EVO version.
To verify the recycle bin is enabled on your NAS shares, navigate to NAS & Project Sharing in the EVO web UI. Here, expand the logical disk view to show its NAS share(s).
Once the NAS shares are shown, clicking Edit to the right of the NAS share will bring up parameters, where the Recycle Bin functionality can be toggled.
On the System > Advanced page in the EVO web UI, the duration until the Recycle Bin auto-purges can be changed as necessary. The default is one week until files are removed permanently.
If content needs to be recovered from an EVO share's recycle bin, there is a link at the bottom of the NAS & Project Sharing page. This link is labeled Browse deleted files in EVO NAS shares.
Content can be restored from here, as well as emptied from the recycle bin for the chosen share.
The questions marks are expected for folders, as folders will likely have files that were deleted at different times. Deleting a folder will only remove items within that have been deleted, while non-deleted items in these folders will be unaffected.