Review the Overview & General Safety section in the EVO System Upgrade Guide before proceeding.
EVO 7.1.1 Release Notes
- Ensure current backups exist (including databases such as ShareBrowser, Slingshot, and Resolve, if applicable)
- Uninstall any plugins (if applicable)
Pre-upgrade:
- Ensure current backups are available
- If ShareBrowser/Slingshot are used, export (download) a copy of each database
- If any plugins are installed, ensure their configuration is noted
- Critical: if the Resolve plugin is installed, its database must be backed up from a Resolve Studio workstation, to be re-imported following upgrade
- Uninstall all plugins
- (If EVO continually warns about a secondary disk, ensure it's connected before proceeding)
- Plan sufficient downtime for reboots
- Ensure EVO is running at least version 7.1.0.161 before updating to 7.1.1.
Note: If an update fails for any reason, do not attempt to force it; instead, please gather logs and open a ticket.
Upgrade:
- Starting with a reboot is recommended to ensure there are no latent or unobserved concerns before committing to upgrade, and effectively ensures no immediate user activity
- Download EVO version 7.1.1.69
- Navigate to the Support page in the EVO web interface, and click the OS DATA tab to upload version 7.1.1.69
- Begin the upgrade and allow some time (typically 5-10 minutes), after which EVO will prompt for reboot
EVO will boot into 7.1.1.69.
Post-upgrade:
- If ShareBrowser is used, uninstall the existing workstation application and download the matching client versions, and install any plugins/restore Resolve database if applicable.
Note: EVO 7.1.1 adds support for Share Level permissions (existing permissions are preserved during upgrade).
Changing the permission mode requires one more reboot, after which user/group permissions must be quickly reapplied (no need to wait for permission propagation).
(Optional) Apply Share Level permissions:
- Carefully note current user/group permissions
- Navigate to System > Advanced > SMB Permissions and change the mode, which will prompt for an immediate reboot
- Assign per-share permissions once EVO boots